Museum Van Loon is the residence of the Amsterdam merchant family of Van Loon. It was Willem van Loon, who, in the beginning of the Golden Age, developed his talents in the business world as cofounder of the Dutch East India Company VOC in 1602. His grandson Willem was the first Van Loon to be appointed as Mayor of Amsterdam in 1686. After him, several members of the family were on the city council of Amsterdam. In the early nineteenth century the family was raised to nobility and became affluent bankers. In 1884, Hendrik and Louise Van Loon - Borski bought the house on the Keizersgracht as a wedding gift for their son Willem Hendrik and their daughter-in-law Thora Egidius.
The house at 672 Keizersgracht was built in 1672, together with the adjoining residence, for a Flemish merchant. The first resident was the painter Ferdinand Bol, famous pupil of Rembrandt. The original façade of the house, with the statues on top, is still in place, but the interior was completely changed after 1757, when the Van Hagen – Trip couple moved in. It is they who introduced the Louis XV style of the interior which can still be seen today.
Prof. Dr. Maurits van Loon (1923–2006), founded the Van Loon Foundation in 1960, and restored the house and the collection of his grandparents. Since 1973 the house has been open to the public. The Van Loon family still inhabits the upper floors, the former servant quarters.
Visitors can enjoy the beauty of the house and the collection of portraits, furniture, silverware and porcelain. The garden and coach house, with carriages and a sleigh, are also accessible.